Book Review: Winter

Winter   Winter

By: Marissa Meyer

Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Romance, Young Adult

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

~From Goodreads

After a month of reading bits and pieces of it when I could, Winter has finally come to an end. While it wasn’t perfect, it managed to capture all the right high and low points that made it a fun roller coaster ride of emotions from start to finish.

Things I Liked: While the blurb on the back and the title suggest that Princess Winter is the main character, there are really eight major players in this book. Going in, I knew that Meyer had a huge challenge to overcome: making sure all of her characters get equal share of the limelight and that their individual conflicts are wrapped up nicely along with the main conflict. I have to admit, I didn’t think she could do it well. There was just so many obstacles in Cinder’s way at the start of the book, a mere 800 pages didn’t seem like enough time to do the story justice. Meyer proved me wrong. Not only did she manage to give each character their due (Kai was actually useful in this one!), she also was able to spend quite a bit of time at the beginning of the story fleshing out newcomers Winter and Jacin. Meyer is definitely a master at juggling large casts of characters!

Things I Didn’t Like: There were several moments throughout the story where I had to suspend my disbelief so that I could properly enjoy the story. The ease with which Cinder and Company were able to convince the Lunar people to join their cause was almost laughable. I know if I had been a suppressed laborer all my life, I would definitely not risk said life to get some tech-savy teenager with no ruling experience on the Lunar throne. It would be like replacing a tyrant with a well-meaning college student (no offense to any college students reading this!). Yeah, sure, I wouldn’t be oppressed any more and its without a doubt the college student is passionate and means well, but there is a very high chance that the new queen would run the economy into the ground because she has no idea how to run a government. Even when I was reading Cress, I always hoped, in the back of my head, that Cinder would realize this huge, gaping flaw in her plan and try to find someone with true ruling experience (and who had actually lived  on Luna for longer than a couple of days!) to take over once she had taken out Levana. Alas…

Rating:

Book OwlBook OwlBook OwlBook Owl

It wasn’t perfect but it hit all the right notes and I will always be able to remember this reading experience fondly in the future. I eagerly await Stars Above in February so I read the anticipated Epilogue to this epic series!

Leave a Reply

