Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read This Year

Top Ten Tuesday 1

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by the ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish. Click on the banner to learn more about it and to see a list of upcoming topics.

 

Its been so loooooong. Hello again everyone! I kind of fell off the face of the earth for a while mostly because my procrastination habits caught up with me and made my last few weeks of the semester stressful and bitter. Its exam week but since classes are pretty much wrapped up, I figured it would be safe to venture back out into the real world and give my blog some much needed love.  So this week’s topic is a review of my top ten books of the year. This year was very touch and go with my reading selections. I had some that I loved and some that I REALLY hated, with more of the latter, much to my chagrin. Below is a list of my favorites in preference order.

Top Ten Best Books of 2015

Divergent

10. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I decided to read this against my better judgement and was mildly surprised by how much I enjoyed the story and characters. While not logical, the story was thoroughly entertaining and the romance was tingle-worthy. I hate the sequels but I will always remember Divergent fondly. You can read my official review here.

 Percy Jackson

9. Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson was the first book I liked after months of poor reading choices. I loved how Riordan was able to seamlessly weave Greek mythology throughout the story and create a plot that was reminiscent of a traditional hero’s quest. While the sequels became stale really quickly for me, the first one was fun to read. You can read my review for it here.

Crown of Midnight

8. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

This book was soooo problematic. As a sequel, it was well done. The plot felt more like a fantasy novel, the characters grew on me and so did the focal romance. There were, however, some creative choices that Maas made that didn’t sit well with me. You can read more about these choices here but be warned that the review does contain major spoilers.

A Thousand Pieces of You

7. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You has a unique plot with some fun explorations of soulmates and alternate dimensions but suffers from some of my least favorite YA cliches. I’m still up in the air about whether I liked this book or thought it was mediocre. You can read my official review here.

Cress

6. Cress by Marissa Meyer

Cress revitalized my hopes for The Lunar Chronicles after having them dashed in Scarlet. Cress and Thorne were adorable and the plot centered more on Cinder’s quest to regain her crown than in its predecessor. You can read my official review for it here.

Aristotle and Dante

5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

This was a beautiful story about families and new romance. I really identified with Ari’s character and loved how Saenz was able to portray a broken family without making them damaged. It truly deserves all the praise it gets. You can read my review for it here.

Howl's Moving Castle

4. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

I went in looking for a better romance story than the one presented in the Hayao Miyazaki movie and came out with better, more flawed characters. Howl is whiny and narcissistic and Sophie is interfering and nosy. It was a fun, quick read. You can read my review here.

Winter

3. Winter by Marissa Meyer

I haven’t actually finished this book. I started it right before the final project frenzy hit and its been languishing on my nightstand for weeks. From what I’ve read so far though, I think this will be near the top of my favorites list for the year. Meyer is doing a good job of balancing all of the characters and juggling all of the loose plot lines. I’m also loving how much time Cinder/Kai and Cress/Thorne are getting, which are my two favorite couples from the series.

Lair of Dreams

2. Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

I had been looking forward to this release and wasn’t disappointed! After reading Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy, I was a little afraid that The Diviners was a one hit wonder but she proved me wrong. We got a new creepy caper, new, complex characters and a deeper look at some old favorites. You can read my official review here.

Uprooted

1. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I fell in love with this book by the end of the first chapter. I had middling expectations for it going in and came out completely blown away by how much I got sucked in by the plot and characters. Hands down, this was the best book of the year I read. You can read my review for it here.

Barring national disasters or the apocalypse, I should be here again next Tuesday. See you then!

Leave a Reply

