Top Ten Tuesday: Top Book to Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

Top Ten Tuesday 1

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by the Broke and the Bookish. Click on the banner above to learn more about it and to see a list of upcoming topics.

Hello everyone! Its been a while and I hope there are still some of you lingering in the void my blog has become! This week’s topic is anticipated book to movie adaptations. Funnily enough, there aren’t a whole lot of book adaptations I’m looking forward to (if you don’t count Marvel/DC superhero movies, which I kind of do). If you’d asked me this same question ten years ago, I could’ve named 6-7 right off the top of my head between Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, The Hobbit/Lord of the Rings, and Twilight. For today’s list, I had to go digging through IMDb to see what I could find. I was surprised by the number of YA books that have been optioned for movies and I hope that most of them make it through the production process because some of them would make terrific movies.

Top Book to Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

The Diviners

10. The Diviners

Release Date: ???

I would be so excited if this movie actually makes it past the development process. It’s currently been optioned, which actually means very little in the world of movies. I’m going to keep my fingers crossed because this could make a really interesting movie. It has horror, mystery, history, and romance and could satisfy a wide range of viewers.

Shadowhunters

9. Shadowhunters

Release Date: January 12, 2016

I’m trying not to get my hopes up about this series but I can’t help but feel incredibly curious about what they’re going to do with the plot and characters. The movie was an utter disaster in my opinion and I try my best to pretend it doesn’t exist. When I heard they were making a reboot TV series, I felt hopeful that they would right the wrongs they had made in the movie. From the footage they’ve released so far, I’m not really feeling it, but that’s mostly because of the cheesy special effects and the awkward acting. At least they seem to have gotten the characters down better this time, with Jace whipping out sassy one-liners every chance he can get and Magnus rocking the glitter. I’ll check it out and hope for the best!

Knights of the Round Table

8. Knights of the Round Table: King Arthur

Release Date: July 22, 2016

I’m a huge fan of the King Arthur legends and Merlin was one of my favorite TV shows for the longest time. I don’t know too much about the story or the characters they intend to use beyond the expect infamous love triangle but I’m curious. It might be worth a look and it has Charlie Hunnam in it so at least I’ll have something pretty to look at if the plot tanks.

Queen of the Tearling

7. Queen of the Tearling

Release Date: ???

Queen of the Tearling was optioned up as a movie before it even hit the shelves and Emma Watson was immediately cast as the lead, but since then, there’s been little news. As far as I know, its still in development and isn’t moving past that any time soon. I haven’t read this book yet, but its high on my list of things to do so I’m okay with them holding this one off for a little while to give me time to catch up.

Wonder Woman

6. Wonder Woman

Release Date: June 23, 2017

I’m not a comic book reader, but I’m an avid consumer of superhero movies and TV shows. I’ve seen every single one of the movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe and I’m currently addicted to The Flash on the CW. I’m really curious to see what DC is going to bring to the table with an audience already thoroughly saturated with Marvel superhero movies, but they are going to the be the first of the two to release a female led film featuring the iconic Wonder Woman. As a woman and as a superhero fan, I can’t help but be excited about this historically important moment and hope from the bottom of my heart that they write a really good story and make audiences fall in love with the Amazonian goddess as much as they love Batman and Iron Man. It also helps that Chris Pine has been recently confirmed to be Diana’s love interest ;D

The Silver Chair

5. The Chronicles of Narnia: The Silver Chair

Release Date: ???

I’ve been waiting for this one for years and I’m still not convinced that its happening, even though its been confirmed that there’s a completed script. After Voyage of the Dawn Treader was released, Walden Media’s contract with the C.S. Lewis estate expired and they had to wait two years before they could renew it. There was some debate as to which book would be released next: the Silver Chair, which was the next book chronologically or The Magician’s Nephew, which is a prequel to The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I loved the actor who played Eustace and wanted to see him continue his role in The Silver Chair and now that its all official, I can’t wait to see what they do with this story.

The Death Cure

4. The Maze Runner: The Death Cure

Release Date: February 17, 2017

I hate the books but the movies are like my cat nip. Maybe its because movies rely more on visual stimulation (and wow is The Maze Runner visually stimulating *cough*Dylan O’Brien*cough*) while novels need to be more reliant on tight plotting and character development. Either way, the movies are, in my personal opinion, so much better than the books and I’m eagerly looking forward to the finale which comes out a year from February. It looks like the screenwriters are diverting heavily from Dashner’s original story and making the movie (and the characters) a lot more logical. Here’s looking forward to next Februrary!

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

3. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Release Date: February 5, 2016

I have to confess that I haven’t actually read the book, but I’m a fan of Austen’s original work and what’s not to love about Elizabeth Bennett, Zombie Killer? I’m also excited to see Lily James as Elizabeth and the cutie pie who played Diaval in Maleficent, Sam Riley, as Mr. Darcy.

Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them

2. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Release Date: November 18, 2016

As a die-hard Harry Potter fan, this movie makes me very happy, even if the only connection to the original characters we’ll see in the film is the secret wizarding world they all inhabit. Newt Scamander, the author of Harry’s Care of Magical Creatures textbook, is the star of this film and we get to follow him on his cataloging adventures through 1920s New York. The script for the film comes from the queen herself, Ms. J.K. Rowling, and while not everything she touches turns to gold, I have faith that she’ll be able to infuse the same great character growth and history into this new story. This doesn’t come out for another year, but this is the first of a film trilogy so I’ll just patiently wait for all the awesome to come.

Mockingjay Part 2

1. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

Release Date: November 20, 2015

I’m sure this movie is on every book geek’s Must See list and I am no exception. While I thought the book was sub-par compared to its predecessors, Mockingjay Part 1 surpassed all of my expectations and made me excited to see the conclusion. Like with the Harry Potter series, Mockingjay Part 2 marks the end of an era in the YA genre and until the next explosive series appears (which I would argue hasn’t happened yet), YA movie-goers will be quiet for a while.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Book to Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To

Leave a Reply

