Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Didn’t (Or Wish I Didn’t) Finish

Top Five Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme created by gingerreadslainey. You can check out her Youtube page here and the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads page here.

 Two days in a row! It must be a record. This week’s topic is actually really interesting for me because I have a hard time dropping something before I finish it. My thought process behind this is usually that I spent the (insert random price here) on the book and I should at least get my money’s worth before I chuck it on the discard pile. Recently, this has been a real drain on my reading enthusiasm because a lot of my choices have been duds so I’m forcing myself to read terrible book after terrible book. The alternative would be dropping 10-15 books a year that probably comes to about $100 I could’ve put to better use elsewhere. Its a lose-lose situation I suppose. This post will memorialize the few books that were so bad, I just COULDN’T finish them, no matter how much I tried and those books I wish from the bottom of my heart I could’ve forced myself to burn.

Books I Didn’t (or Wish I Didn’t) Finish

The Sweet Far Thing

5. The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

Against my better judgement, I trudged through this book (and the others in the series) until the bitter end. I wasn’t very impressed with A Great and Terrible Beauty and knew that the series probably wasn’t going to improve much, but for the sake of completeness, I bought the second book and then the third–not one of my better decisions this year. It took me a good two months to read all three books and I came away hating the heroines and villains equally and could find very few redeeming qualities in Bray’s writing. My time would’ve been better spent elsewhere.

Allegiant

4. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I knew what was going to happen in this book and I STILL decided to go ahead and read it. I read Divergent on a whim after watching about 20 random minutes of the movie. I quickly got sucked into the story and decided to plunge right into the sequels, naively believing that the journey would be worth the crappy ending. I was sorely disappointed by Insurgent and should’ve stopped when I had the chance, but my completeness obsession kicked in before I could do so and I muddled through the travesty that is Allegiant.  Again, this series took up a good two months of my life that I wish I could have back, but alas….

The Collector

3. The Collector by Nora Roberts

I could literally feel that tiny piece of me that still dwells in the halls of high school shatter into a million pieces when I read this drivel. I used to adore Nora Roberts and this book is insultingly sub par. The characters were annoying, the romance was unrealistic and, frankly, unconvincing, and the dialogue was kind of clunky. The only thing interesting about this book was the inclusion of the Russian Fabrege eggs, which are an interesting and tragic piece of history. I wish I had stopped reading this book when I first noticed it wasn’t wowing me and now I think I’ve been ruined for all of Nora Roberts’ future books.

Wildest Dreams

2. Wildest Dreams by Kristen Ashley

Wildest Dreams is a self-published novel by contemporary romance author Kristen Ashley. I stumbled upon it on Goodreads and saw that everyone compared the story to a Daenrys and Khal Drogo romance set in a land of forever winter. The description sounded intriguing but I was super disappointed when I actually started reading the book. The main character, an adult woman, talked like a teenager out of the 80s or 90s with multiple instances of “Golly!,” “Ho boy,” and “eek!” and the amount of unnecessary, elementary descriptions were tedious. I swear the author spent half of the first few chapters describing the heroine’s attire, down to the smallest belt buckle, as well as the attire of every other character, no matter how big or small their role was and the interiors of each room the heroine walked into. I dropped the book after 5 or 6 chapters and never looked back.

The Maze Runner

1. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I love to hate this book (the movies are awesome so they are exempt from said bashing). I wanted to love these books but the writing was so repetitive and clunky. Thomas’ thoughts drove me up a wall and the other characters didn’t help much to pick up the slack. I know there are several people who describe Thomas as a Gary Stu who is so special that special things just seem to happen to him. I would concur. Needless to say, I dropped this book after seven chapters.

What have been your DNF disasters? Comment below if you feel like sharing!

See you next Wednesday!

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Didn’t (Or Wish I Didn’t) Finish

  1. I totally agree on The Sweet Far Thing! I actually liked A Great and Terrible Beauty, but the whole series was downhill from there. The ending for The Sweet Far Thing was just atrocious.

    Like

  2. While I finished Maze Runner, and the rest of the series, I have to agree that I did not enjoy the writing style. The overly dystopian dumbed down language was annoying. It made it quite difficult to read the book. Even so, something pushed me through. (perhaps my inability to not not finish a book. o.0 Yeah…)

    As far as Allegiant goes… I enjoyed the ending. However, there were aspects of the ending that severely annoyed me. Even so, I’m /very/ disappointed with the movies as they do not, in my mind, appropriately follow the books and the casting. Ugh…

    Like

    • I have a bad relationship with dystopian books. The Hunger Games is the only series I’ve liked in that genre so far. And The Maze Runner movies are such a fluke! I usually feel the same way as you about movie adaptations but The Maze Runner was just so much fun to watch! Maybe its because we don’t have to listen to Thomas thinking 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my gosh! I couldn’t /stand/watching Maze Runner! 😡 They changed all the important stuff from the book, which mad everything far too easy and lacking plot! Bleh!
        P.s. Delirium by Lauren Oliver is amazing in the dystopian genre. ^.^ read it!

        Like

  3. Aw that’s too bad, I actually kinda liked Great and Terrible Beauty but I read it such a long time ago that I wanted to reread the book and then continue with the series. Same goes with Divergent, I’ve only read the first two books. I liked the first book and the second was alright. But I’m a little scared to read the third book 😐

    Like

  4. Ok, I totally agree with you about Allegiant. I hated the end of that book, and now have no desire to see the movies! However, I am a huge fan of Kristen Ashley’s, and especially this series. While I do agree with the exclamations, I really like how she describes everything. I guess that’s why I love reading. It’s all so subjective! Have you read her Rock Chick series? I love those ladies, but there are a couple of exclamations, so beware! Check out my blog, for my review of those books. I’d like to hear your thoughts!

    Like

    • No I haven’t. Wildest Dreams was something I stumbled upon while sifting through Goodreads and I just couldn’t get into her writing style so I’m kind of afraid to try something else of hers. I guess it comes down to a writing style preference: I like detailed descriptions up to a certain point. I’ll definitely pop over to your blog and check out your thoughts on her other books. Maybe you’ll induce me to try again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

